FreePh: 0800 336660

See our Facebook page!


The Philippine archipelago is made up of 7107 islands; favourably located in relation to many of Southeast Asia's main water bodies: the South China Sea, Philippine Sea, Sulu Sea, Celebes Sea, and Luzon Strait The islands of Luzon and Mindanao account for two-thirds of the land area. The capital is Manila.


The currency is called peso (p. for short), which is divided into 100 centavos.


No visa is required for a stay of less than 30 days (travelling on NZ passports), provided the onward passage has been booked and paid for.


There are two seasons in the Philippines- The dry north-east monsoon (November to April) season and the wet south-west monsoon (May to October) season. Depending on where you are, the wet season is different. The north-western part of the country is during this period visited by the monsoon that south-east Asia is well-known for, while the climate on the south-eastern islands is practically the same during the entire year. In the Visayas region (mid-Philippines) where Malapascua is located, the wet season is mild, with one or two hours of rainfall each day. The rains can sometimes be quite massive but many people still go travelling in the country during the wet season. Temperatures are quite steady around 30°C (= 86°F) all year, with a slight peak in May.


There are two official languages - Filipino (based on Tagalog) and English; eight major dialects - Tagalog, Cebuano, Ilocano, Hiligaynon or Ilonggo, Bicol, Waray, Pampango and Pangasinan.


Even though the Philippines lies just north of the world's largest Muslim state, Indonesia, it is about 94 percent Christian - mostly Roman Catholic. About five percent of Filipinos are Muslim, mostly living on the islands of Mindanao and Palawan - islands closest to the Muslim countries of Malaysia and Indonesia.


89,468,677 (July 2006).